**There is very limited hotel availability in Salt Lake. However, additional lodging has been secured through the University at another location. If you still have not booked a hotel room and would like to do so, please send email with your check-in/check-out dates to the organizers atmail or call 801-585-0182.

Room sharing arrangements can still be coordinated via the conference wiki page

BOSS Collaboration Meeting 2010

SDSS 2.5-meter telescope

Picture courtesy of Fermilab

March 8 - 10, 2010

Hosted by the Physics & Astronomy Department at the University of Utah

The Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Utah is pleased to host the first dedicated collaboration meeting of the Baryon Oscillation Spectroscopic Survey (BOSS) of the Sloan Digital Sky Survey 3 (SDSS3). The meeting will be held on Monday-Wednesday, 08-10 March 2010, at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA.

This meeting presents the first opportunity for all BOSS collaborators to talk and work closely together with commissioning data in hand. The schedule of talks and working group sessions has been posted to the BOSS 2010 SLC meeting page on the SDSS3 wiki site. BOSS collaborators who are unable to view this page should follow these steps for obtaining SDSS3 wiki account access.

A conference dinner will be held on the evening of Tuesday 09 March at Squatters Pub and Brewery in downtown Salt Lake City. The cost of this dinner is $35 per person.

Registration is now closed. However, registration for the meeting is required; if you still need to register, please contact us at


Travel support for young collaborators (broadly interpreted) to attend the meeting is offered through the SDSS-III Astronomer Travel Assistance Fund. For details, please see this message in the sdss3-general email archive.

If you are interested in making teleconferencing arrangements, contact us atmail

For any questions or inquiries related to the meeting, please send email to


See you in SLC!

Local Organizing Committee:
Adam Bolton (Chair)
Peter Brown
Kyle Dawson
Dave Kieda
Kathrine Skollingsberg


If you have any questions or concerns, please email the organizing committee at


Please note that this site will update as often as information becomes available.