The University of Utah
Department of Physics & Astronomy at the University of Utah

2014 Graduation Awards & Scholarships

Graduation and commencement exercises for the University of Utah took place on May 1-2, 2014. The Department of Physics & Astronomy congratulates all of its 2014 graduates and welcomes them to their alumni family.

Anne Marie Schaeffer

Weili Hong

Uyen Huynh

Hans Malissa

Dali Sun

Christopher Ahn

Ian Sohl

Joshua Wallace

Rachel Baarda

Alissa Whiting

Julie Imig

Ethan Lake

Congratulations to our 2014 graduates and scholarship recipients!

2014 Awards & ScholarshipsBaccalaureate DegreesMasters DegreesPh. D Degrees

Swigart Scholarship for Outstanding Graduate Student
Anne Marie Schaeffer
Weili Hong
Henrik Odeen

Outstanding Graduate Student
Mark Limes
Uyen Huynh

Outstanding Postdoctoral Research
Hans Malissa
Dali Sun

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants
Chris Ahn
Janivda Rou

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistants
James Skowronek

Paul Gilbert Outstanding Undergraduate Research
Joshua Wallace

Martin Hiatt Outstanding Undergraduate Research
Rachel Baarda

Outstanding Undergraduate - Senior
Leslie Mershon

Outstanding Undergraduate - Junior
Trey Jensen

Outstanding Undergraduate - Sophomore
Alissa Whiting

Walter Wada Memorial Award
Julie Imig

Tyler Soelberg Memorial Award
Josh Hanes

Parmley Award
Ian Sohl

Departmental Scholarship
Christopher Harker
Trey Jensen
Ethan Lake
David Stephens

Rachel Baards – HBS
Kouver Bingham – HBS
Matthew Byrne
Zachary Carson
Andrew Dilts
Parker Duncan
Tristan Ellsworth
Mohamed Elsherif – Physics Teaching
Anthony Garcia - HBS
Chris Ginzton – BA
Nathan Gygi
Laurel Hales - HBS
Nino Hodzic
Erik Houghtby
Matthew Hunsaker
Natascha Knowlton
Austin Lee
Kayla Martindale
Shawn Merrill
Quinton Nethercott
Jeff Palmer
Evangelia Papadopoulos – HBS
Tyler Schmauch
Justin Talbot
Scott Temple
Sean Vetsch
Joshua Wallace – HBS
Matthew Wallace
Joshua Wolfe
Veronika Burobina
Michael Doleac – Physics Teaching
David Harris
Brendan Pankovich
Weili Hong
Mark Limes
Robert Roundy
Yiping Shu
Xuefang Sui
Alex Thiessen
David Waters
Rhett Zollinger

Follow Us

Support Us

Make A Difference

Outreach: The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U

Community Outreach

Scholarships: The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U

Academic Scholarships

General_Development: The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U

Other Areas
of Support


Our Newest Program:

Crimson Laureate Society


Click to download full size.

The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U


Science, it makes us all go


Even Our English Majors Study Physics


The Formula For The Perfect Pass


  • Dept of Physics & Astronomy • 201 James Fletcher Bldg. 115 S. 1400 E., Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0830
  • PHONE 801-581-6901
  • Fax 801-581-4801
  • ©2018 The University of Utah