2016 Department Awards & Scholarships

Graduation and commencement exercises for the University of Utah took place on May 5-6, 2016. The Department of Physics & Astronomy congratulates all of its 2016 graduates and welcomes them to their alumni family.

The Department of Physics & Astronomy congratulates all its 2016 student award recipients on their hard work and accomplishments. Recipients were honored at the Physics & Astronomy Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 29 at 2:00 PM in 103 James Fletcher Building.

Sebastian Atwood

Sara Augustine

Paul Bergeron

Mark Hayward

Julie Imig

Wen Jin

Gajadahar Joshi

Jihee Kim

Evan LaFalce

Ethan Lake

Dieu Nguyen

Deric Session

Caleb Webb

Takahiro Yamamoto

Yue Zhang


Congratulations to our 2016 graduates and scholarship recipients!
(* denotes Honors degree)

2016 Awards & ScholarshipsBaccalaureate DegreesMasters DegreesPh. D Degrees

Swigart Scholarship for Outstanding Graduate Students
Wen Jin
Gajadahar Joshi
Dieu Nguyen

Outstanding Graduate Students
Jihee Kim
Yue Zhang

Outstanding Postdoctoral Research
Evan LaFalce

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants
Paul Bergeron
Takahiro Yamamoto

Paul Gilbert Outstanding Undergraduate Research
Trey Jensen

Martin Hiatt Outstanding Undergraduate Research
Cedric Wilson

Outstanding Undergraduate - Senior
Sebastian Atwood

Outstanding Undergraduate - Junior
Julie Imig

Outstanding Undergraduate - Sophomore
Sara Augustine

Tyler Soelberg Memorial Award
Mark Hayward

Thomas J. Parmley Scholarship
Ethan Lake
Deric Session

Walter W. Wada Scholarship
Caleb Webb

Departmental Scholarships
Teddy Anderson
Caroline Lewis
Deric Session
Alexis Wilson

Brian Barnes
Nathan Barney
Denton Beck
Timothy Birch
Jonathan Boyle
Lara Carbuhn
Remington Carlson
Masen Christensen*
Thomas H. Christensen
Markus Dabell
Kel Davis
David Deganne
Trent Eason
Steven Farrell
Joshua Gallagher
Josh Hanes*
Paul Harrie
Darrell Henderson
Jasmine Hinton
Pyone Pwint Wai Thi Hlaing (Teaching)
Grey Hugentobler
Trey Jensen*
Rebecca Klaus
Von, Le Von
Hamilton Lucas
Scott Malloy
Michael May
Zachary Millsap
Amir Orome
Julianna M. G. Pierson (Teaching)
Troy Raen
William Renz*
Paul Richardson
Haylie Romero
David Rosen
Philip Simon*
Jason Sorger
Richard Stefanussen
David Stephens
Clayton Sweeten
Trevor Taylor
Taylor Trujillo
Ryan Ulibarri
Cedric Wilson
Soren Wood
Kyle Jeong
Marzieh Kavand
Andrew Flinders
Pei-i Ku
Song-Haeng Lee
Robert Roundy
Xuefang Sui
Christopher Winterowd
Cheryl Zapata-Allegro
Yaxin Zhai
Zachary Zundel

Follow Us

Support Us

Make A Difference

Outreach: The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U

Community Outreach

Scholarships: The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U

Academic Scholarships

General_Development: The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U

Other Areas
of Support


Our Newest Program:

Crimson Laureate Society


Click to download full size.

The Department of Physics & Astronomy at the U


Science, it makes us all go


Even Our English Majors Study Physics


The Formula For The Perfect Pass


  • Department of Physics & Astronomy • 201 James Fletcher Bldg. 115 South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0830
  • PHONE 801-581-6901
  • Fax 801-581-4801
  • ©2018 The University of Utah