You are here:

 U Physics Students Win National Recognition




SPS Logo

The University of Utah chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. The chapter has been recognized two years in a row for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 10% of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally. 

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students, and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies. 

The SPS chapter at the University of Utah is advised by Tamara Young, academic advising coordinator, and is led by student officers. The 2019 officers are:

  • President - Jared Coles  
  • Vice President - Galen Bergsten
  • Secretary - Jordan Lybarger
  • Historian - Zane Gerber
  • Financial Officer - Maria Stokes
  • Outreach Coordinators - Maile Marriott and Jesse Snow

"We are thrilled to receive the award on behalf of the U and the Physics & Astronomy Department," said Young. "Our students are committed to fostering a great chapter, and the award recognizes their efforts and dedication."

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to "help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community."




Share this article:


Physics News


Last Updated: 7/10/19