You are here:

People

To learn more about the people that make up our department, click their names. To see a list of people by title, click the appropriate links under "People" in the left-hand menu. To search on this page, type "CTRL" + "F" (on Mac: "⌘ Cmd" + "F"). Legend: H = Home, C = Work Cell

ALL PEOPLEALL FACULTYALL STAFFALL POST DOCSALL GRADUATE STUDENTS

**This information taken from the latest version of the department directory. Instructions for changes corrections at bottom of page.

Name

Title

Email

Office

Phone

A        
Rasha Abbasi Research Assistant Professor rasha@cosmic.utah.edu  240-6 INSCC 801-585-0809
Udara Abeysekara Research Assistant Professor  udarabeysekara@yahoo.com  223 SP N/A
Tareq Abu-Zayyad Research Associate Professor tareq@cosmic.utah.edu  246 INSCC 801-581-8206
Megha Agarwal Grad Student  agarwalmegha1991@gmail.com  212A-1 JFB N/A
Giancarlo Aguirre Grad Student  u0713491@utah.edu  NA NA
Christopher Ahn Grad Student  chris.ahn43@gmail.com  305-1A INSCC N/A
David Ailion Professor dailion@physics.utah.edu  218 JFB 801-581-6973
Hassan Allami Grad Student hassan.allami@gmail.com  212A-4 JFB N/A
Sandip Aryal Grad Student mesandip01@gmail.com   211-6 SP N/A
Aishwarya Ashok Grad Student aish.ash.ashok@gmail.com  209-2 JFB N/A
Sabastian Atwood Grad Student sabatwood@gmail.com  209-03 JFB NA
         
B        
Doug Baird Grad Student/Post Doc doug.baird@utah.edu  336-2 JFB N/A
Sangita Baniya Grad Student sangitaa.baniya@gmail.com   211-13 SP N/A
Ahron Barber Grad Student barber@physics.utah.edu  214-A SP 801-581-6203
Elwin Bassett Grad Student canston42@gmail.com  104-1 JFB N/A
Adam Beehler Lecture Demonstration Specialist beehler@physics.utah.edu  B-8 JFB 801-581-6602
Philip Beltracchi Grad Student phipbel@@aol.com  305-5A INSCC N/A
John Belz Associate Professor belz@physics.utah.edu  228 INSCC 801-585-9620
Mourad Bendjennat Research Assistant Professor mourad.bendjennat@utah.edu  209 LS N/A
Paul Bergeron Grad Student paul.bergeron@utah.edu  205-6A INSCC N/A
Doug Bergman Associate Professor bergman@physics.utah.edu  230 INSCC 801-585-5973
Tushar Bhowmick Grad Student u1076957@utah.edu  209-07 JFB N/A
Nicholas Boardman Post Doc nick.boardman@astro.utah.edu 318 INSCC N/A
Christoph Boehme Professor boehme@physics.utah.edu  301 JFB 801-581-6806
      B-21 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-24 JFB (Lab) N/A
Jaspal Bola Grad Student u1149429@utah.edu  209-08 JFB N/A
Ben Bromley Professor bromley@physics.utah.edu  NA 801-581-8227
Isaac Brown-Heft Grad Student i.brownheft@utah.edu  209-09 JFB N/A
Joel Brownstein Research Associate Professor joelbrownstein@physics.utah.edu  312 INSCC 801-585-5265
Tabitha Buehler Associate Professor (Lecturer) tabitha@physics.utah.edu  314 INSCC 801-587-9780
         
C        
Robert Cady Research Assistant Professor rcady@physics.utah.edu  220 INSCC 801-585-0060
Weizhao Cai Post Doc wzhcai@physics.utah.edu  322-2 JFB  
      B-22 JFB (Lab) 801-587-3692
Julie Callahan Program Coordinator - ASPIRE julie@cosmic.utah.edu  266 INSCC 801-585-9331
George Cassiday Professor cassiday@physics.utah.edu  B-5 JFB 801-581-6635
Marzieh Chaharlang Grad Student marzieh.chaharlag@yaho.com  209-1 JFB N/A
Su-Kong Chong Grad Student sukong.chong@utah.edu  211-5 SP N/A
Matthew Cornachione Grad Student mcomach@gmail.com  350-22 INSCC N/A
         
D        
Kevin Davenport Grad Student kevin.davenport@utah.edu  211-2 SP N/A
Andrew Davidson Grad Student u6001271@utah.edu  205-5A INSCC N/A
Kyle Dawson Associate Professor kdawson@physics.utah.edu  328 INSCC 801-581-4785
      106 JFB (Lab) N/A
Shanti Deemyad Associate Professor deemyad@physics.utah.edu  311 JFB 801-585-5955
      B-22 JFB (Lab) N/A
John DeFord Professor golfcalc@aol.com  B-6 JFB 801-581-8396
Claudia De Grandi Assistant Professor (Lecturer) degrandi@physics.utah.edu  313 JFB 801-581-4826
Matt DeLong Nano Czar (Retired) delong@physics.utah.edu  221 SP 801-581-7462
        801-580-7246 C
Marcia Cook deWolfe Manager, Accounting Finance marcia.cook@utah.edu  203 JFB 801-581-6374
    physicsaccounting@utah.edu     
Vikram Deshpande Assistant Professor vdesh@physics.utah.edu  303 JFB 801-581-6570
      B-10 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-18 JFB (Lab) N/A
Carleton DeTar Professor detar@physics.utah.edu  212 INSCC 801-581-7537
Florence Doval Grad Student florencedoval@gmail.com  211-12 SP N/A
Helion du Mas des Bourboux Post Doc h.du.mas.des.bourboux@utah.edu  324 INSCC N/A
Antoine Dumont Grad Student antoine.dumont@utah.edu  N/A N/A
         
E        
Alexei Efros Distinguished Emeritus Professor efros@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
Sarah 
Eftekharzadeh
Post Doc sarahe@astro.utah.edu 350-7
INSCC
N/A
Sarina Etheridge Grad Student sarinaetheridge@gmail.com  209-04 JFB 843-368-6638
         
F        
Sanduni Fernando Grad Student fernandoi.sanduni@gmail.com  209-11 JFB NA
Devon Fischer Grad Student devon.fisch@gmail.com  209-12 JFB NA
Heidi Frank Administrative Manager/Chair's Assistant heidi@physics.utah.edu  201-C JFB 801-581-5697
Greg Furlich Grad Student greg.furlich@utah.edu  240-1B INSCC N/A
         
G        
Jessica Galbraith-Frew Grad Student jessia.frew@utah.edu  350-21 INSCC N/A
Anthony Garcia Grad Student antonygarcia918@hotmail.com  305-4A INSCC N/A
Jordan Gerton Associate Professor/Assoc. Chair jgerton@physics.utah.edu  464 INSCC 801-585-0068
      134 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
      151 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Paolo Gondolo Professor paolo.gondolo@utah.edu  310 INSCC 801-581-7788
Matthew Groesbeck Grad Student gbeckmatt@gmail.com  211-7 SP N/A
Nathan Gundlach Grad Student nathan.gundlach@utah.edu  211-1 SP N/A
         
H        
Bill Hanlon Post Doc whanlon@cosmic.utah.edu  246 INSCC 801-581-7452
Frank Harris Professor harris@physics.utah.edu  204 JFB 801-581-8445
Sten Hasselquist  Post Doc sthasselquist@gmail.com  324 INSCC NA
Brad Hawks Unix Systems Administrator brad@physics.utah.edu  304-B SP 801-585-5801
    page-brad@physics.utah.edu    801-243-5583 C
Heshan Heun-Walpitage Grad Student hwhsweerasinghe@gmail.com  209-13 JFB NA
Mohammad Hossain Grad Student tomal.hossain@utah.edu   2019-14 385-234-8747
Tim Hutchinson Grad Student t.hutchinson@utah.edu  305-11 INSCC N/A
         
I        
Richard Ingebretsen Professor (Lecturer) richi47@comcast.net  B-7 JFB 801-581-7166
Dmitri Ivanov Post Doc ivanov@cosmic.utah.edu  246 INSCC 801-581-3908
Inese Ivans Assistant Professor iii@physics.utah.edu  218 INSCC 801-585-5483
         
J        
Shirin Jamali Grad Student shirin.jamali@utah.edu  336-7 JFB N/A
Wen Jin Grad Student wen.jin@utah.edu  213-A SP N/A
Gajadhar Joshi Grad Student gajadhar_2007@yahoo.com  336-5 JFB 801-581-4443
Charlie Jui Professor jui@physics.utah.edu  222 INSCC 801-581-7186
         
K        
Vikrant Kamble Grad Student vikrant.kamble@utah.edu  350-6 INSCC N/A
Payel Kar Post Doc payel@physics.utah.edu  220-A SP N/A
Marzieh Kavand Grad Student m.kavand@utah.edu  336-1 JFB 801-581-4443
Dipak Khanal Grad Student dip_89raj@yahoo.com  209-6 JFB N/A
David Kieda Professor/Grad School Dean kieda@physics.utah.edu  215 SP 801-581-5220
      109 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
      110 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
      302 PARK 801-581-6926
Jihee Kim Grad Student jihee.kim@cosmic.utah.edu  262-3 INSCC 801-581-3908
Jennifer Kimpson Clerk jkimpson@physics.utah.edu  201 JFB 801-585-1754
Karel Kuchar Emeritus Professor kuchar@physics.utah.edu  224 SP 801-581-5083
Rohit Kumar Grad Student rohit.iit30@gmail.com  211-8 SP N/A
         
L        
Evan Lafalce Research Assistant Professor elafalce@physics.utah.edu  337-2 JFB N/A
Gernot Laicher Research Associate Professor gernot@physics.utah.edu  410 SP 801-585-5553
Stephan LeBohec Associate Professor lebohec@physics.utah.edu  217 SP 801-587-9923
      107 JFB (Lab) N/A
Ryan LeVon Grad Student u0459469@utah.edu  NA NA
Chonghuan Li Grad Student u1159734@utah.edu  209-15 JFB NA
Run Li Grad Student lirunliruntc@gmail.com  104-4 JFB 385-722-6889
Sarah Li Assistant Professor sarahli@physics.utah.edu  310 JFB 801-581-6408
Chuankun Liu Grad Student chuankun.liu@utah.edu  211-14 SP N/A
Hao-Liang Liu Post Doc liuhaoliang03@gmail.com  337-4 JFB N/A
Shuwan Liu Grad Student shuwan.liu@utah.edu  211-15 SP N/A
Xiaojie Liu Grad Student jackyliu0826@gmail.com  211-9 SP N/A
Zhiheng Liu Sr. Optical Engineer zhliu@physics.utah.edu  192 INSCC 801-581-7001
Neda Lotfizadeh Grad Student n.lotfizadeh@gmail.com  212-A-6 JFB N/A
Alec Lovlein Grad Student u1136663@utah.edu  209-18 JFB NA
Jon Paul Lundquist Grad Student jplundquist@cosmic.utah.edu  240-3 INSCC N/A
Zhuxi Luo Grad Student mercuryzx.luo@gmail.com  205-1A INSCC N/A
John Lupton Research Professor lupton@physics.utah.edu  315 JFB 801-581-4137
         
M        
Jing Ma Grad Student jing.ma@utah.edu  211-16 SP N/A
Hans Malissa Research Assistant Professor hmalissa@physics.utah.edu  222 SP 801-585-0485
Rajesh Malla Grad Student rajesh.malla@utah.edu  211-11 SP N/A
Amaya Mao Grad Student amaya.8928@gmail.com  1442 MEB N/A
Vivek Mariappan Post Doc getkeviv@gmail.com  316 INSCC N/A
Jason Martineau Grad Student jtmartineau.work@gmail.com  134 INSCC (Lab) N/A
John Matthews Research Professor: Cosmic Ray jnm@cosmic.utah.edu  224 INSCC 801-581-5505
      120 JFB (Lab) 801-209-1006 C
Nolan Matthews Grad Student nolankmatthews@gmail.com  220-B SP N/A
Dan Mattis Emeritus Professor mattis@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-363-3444 H
Jason May Grad Student jasonmay0945@gmail.com  209-16 JFB NA
Kevin McCarthy Grad Student u1022588@utah.edu  350-7C INSCC N/A
Gary McDonough Senior Technician: Cosmic Ray gary@physics.utah.edu  266 INSCC 801-581-7983
Frank Misak Administrative Assistant: Cosmic Ray misak@cosmic.utah.edu  227 INSCC 801-581-6628
Eugene Mishchenko Professor mishch@physics.utah.edu  216 JFB 801-581-7115
Rachel Morris Grad Student rachael.morris@utah.edu  211-10 SP N/A
David Morison Grad Student nosiromdivad@gmail.com 104-6 JFB N/A
Ed Munford Machine Shop Manager edm@physics.utah.edu  116 JFB 801-581-6242
      104 SP 801-581-6697
Ben Murphy Assistant Data Scientist n.benjamin.murphy@astro.utah.edu  318 INSCC 801-585-3797
         
N        
Adnan Nahlawi Grad Student adnan.nahlawi@utah.edu  212A-3 JFB N/A
Michael Newbold Grad Student historypie@yahoo.com  214-B SP 801-581-6203
Dieu Nguyen Grad Student nddieuphys@gmail.com  350-20 INSCC N/A
Shiyu Nie Grad Student Shiyu.Nie@utah.edu  350-24 INSCC N/A
Bryce Nelson Executive Secretary bryce@physics.utah.edu 201 JFB 801-581-6901
Vicki Nielsen Payroll Accountant

vicki@physics.utah.edu

physicsaccounting@utah.edu 

203 JFB 801-585-1485
         
James Norwood Stockroom Store Keeper james@physics.utah.edu  114 JFB 801-581-6063
    stockroom@physics.utah.edu     
Jay Norwood PC Systems Administrator norwood@physics.utah.edu  304-E SP 801-581-6026
        801-503-5349 C
Tino Nyawelo Assistant Professor (Lecturer) tnyawelo@physics.utah.edu  452 INSCC 801-581-5306
         
O        
Observatory Facility observatory@physics.utah.edu  Roof SP 801-58-SPACE (587-7223)
Bill Ohlsen Emeritus Professor ohlesen@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-364-2159 H
         
P        
Xin Pan Grad Student u1080541@utah.edu  209-10 JFB N/A
Ren Pankovich Grad Student ren.pankovich@utah.edu  205-1B INSCC N/A
Anthony Pantziris Associate Professor (Lecturer) app@physics.utah.edu  B-2 JFB 801-587-3325
Renuka Pechetti Grad Student renuka.268@gmail.com  305-8B INSCC N/A
Krista Perkins Grad Secretary krista@physics.utah.edu  201-D JFB 801-581-6861
Dmytro (Dima) Pesin Assistant Professor pesin@Physics.utah.edu  302 JFB 801-581-3690
Mandi Peterson Receptionist mandi@physics.utah.edu  201 JFB 801-581-6901
    frontdesk@physics.utah.edu     
Vijith Poovelil Grad Student nijith.jacobpoovelil@utah.edu  209-5 JFB N/A
Henna Popli Grad Student henna.popli@utah.edu  336-6 JFB N/A
Matthew Potts Grad Student N/A 209-17 JFB NA
R        
Mikhail (Misha) Raikh Professor raikh@physics.utah.edu  305 JFB 801-585-5017
        801-583-4907 H
Jackson Remington Grad Student jrremington1@gmail.com  240-7 INSCC N/A
Paul Ricketts Observatory observatory@physics.utah.edu  Roof SP 801-58-SPACE (587-7223)
Andrey Rogachev Associate Professor rogachev@physics.utah.edu  306 JFB 801-585-0792
      123 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-7416
Randall Rohas-Bolivar Grad Student randall.rojasbolivar@utah.edu  209-11 JFB N/A
Steven Rossland Grad Student coimhead1643@gmail.com  305-2 INSCC N/A
Janvida Rou Grad Student janvida.rou@gmail.com  211-3 SP N/A
Sid Rudolph Emeritus Research Professor sid@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-466-6380 H
        801-466-6380 H
Julia Russ Grad Student julia.russ@utah.edu  226-B SP N/A
         
S        
Saveez Saffarian Associate Professor saffarian@physics.utah.edu  CSC 124-A
B-23 JFB (Lab)  
801-581-5716 
      204 LS N/A
Ipsita Saha Grad Student ipsitasaha92@gmail.com  212A-7 JFB N/A
Pearl Sandick Associate Professor sandick@physics.utah.edu  210 INSCC 801-581-8397
Anil Seth Associate Professor aseth@astro.utah.edu  330 INSCC 801-585-7793
Lei Shan Grad Student lei.shan@utah.edu  212-A-2 JFB 801-581-8751
Abhimanya Sharma Grad Student sabhimanyu92@gmail.com  104-5 JFB N/A
Lauren Richey Simonsen Grad Student   134 INSCC 801-581-5078
Harold Simpson Facilities Director hsimpson@physics.utah.edu  304-C SP 801-581-3839
        801-244-1017 C
Jeremy Smith Senior Engineer: Cosmic Ray jeremy@cosmic.utah.edu  250 INSCC 801-581-5053
Pierre Sokolsky Distinguished Professor ps@physics.utah.edu  242 INSCC 801-581-5398
Wayne Springer Professor springer@Physics.utah.edu  216 SP 801-585-1390
Oleg Starykh Professor starykh@Physics.utah.edu  304 JFB 801-581-6424
Christopher Stone Associate Professor (Lecturer) cstone@dsdmailnet  Bountiful HS 801-402-3910
      B-4 JFB (summer) 801-585-9850
Xuefang Sui Grad Student suixuefang@gmail.com  305-4B INSCC N/A
Bill Sutherland Emeritus Professor suther@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
Michele Swaner Advancement Coordinator: Math and Physics Astronomy swaner@science.utah.edu  233 JWB 309 JFB 801-580-9590
Orest Symko Professor orest@physics.utah.edu  316 JFB 801-581-6132
      112 JFB (Lab) N/A
      113 JFB (Lab) 801-581-7011
      119 JFB (Lab) N/A
         
T        
Michael Talbot Grad Student mstalbot52@gmail.com  305-1B INSCC N/A
William Talmadge Grad Student willtalmadge@gmail.com  N/A N/A
Xiaolin Tang Grad Student ttxiaolin@gmail.com  B-123 JFB (Lab) N/A
Ran Tao Grad Student tao.ran@utah.edu  213-B SP N/A
Craig Taylor Emeritus Professor pctaylor@mines.edu  
CO School of Mines 303-273-3586
Taniya-Hariska Teanahewa Grad Student trrish1990@gmail.com  336-04 JFB N/A
Mandefro Teferi Grad Student madefero2002@yahoo.com  336-3 JFB N/A
Mei Hui Teh Grad Student meihu.teh@utah.edu  221-B SP N/A
Christopher Tellesbo Grad Student chris.tellesbo@utah.edu  305-3A INSCC N/A
Bijaya Thapa Grad Student bijayathapa104@yahoo.com  UCAIR N/A
Stan Thomas Senior Engineer: Cosmic Ray thomas@physics.utah.edu  250 INSCC 801-581-8650
Gordon Thomson Professor, Jack W. Keuffel Chair in Experimental Astrophysics thomson@physics.utah.edu  NA NA
Josh Tomlin Accountant josh@physics.utah.edu  203 JFB 801-587-7839
    physicsaccounting@utah.edu     
Ryuichi Tsuchikawa Post Doc ryuichipt@gmail.com  322-3 JFB N/A
Peter Trapa Professor/Chair chair@physics.utah.edu  201-B JFB 801-581-3538
U        
Lena Uta’i Accounting Clerk marlena.utai@utah.edu   203 JFB 801-581-5868
    physicsaccounting@utah.edu     
V        
Alejandro Vaquero Post Doc serianam@gmail.com  205-3A INSCC N/A
Valy Vardeny Distinguished Professor val@physics.utah.edu  215 JFB 801-581-8372
      323 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-10 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-11 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-12 JFB (Lab) 801-581-4402
      B-15 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-17 JFB (Lab) N/A
      128 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Michael Vershinin Assistant Professor vershinin@physics.utah.edu  CSC 132- A 801-581-5803
      125 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
Karina Voggel Post Doc kvoggel@astro.utah.edu  316 INSCC 801-585-1824
         
W        
Jingying Wang Post Doc wjy-nry@hotmail.com  322-1 JFB N/A
Maoji Wang Grad Student u1077217@utah.edu  336-4 JFB N/A
Ren-Bo Wang Grad Student rbwang1225@gmail.com  104-2 JFB N/A
Daniel Wik Assistant Professor wik@astro.utah.edu  320 INSCC 801-585-5832
Clayton Williams Professor clayton@physics.utah.edu  217 JFB 801-585-3226
      122 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      124 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      126 INSCC (Lab) N/A
George Williams Emeritus Professor georgeyak80@hotmail.com  N/A N/A
Mary Ann Woolf Editorial Assistant (for large courses) woolf@physics.utah.edu  205 JFB 801-581-4246
John Worlock Research Professor worlock@physics.utah.edu  315 JFB 801-581-4483
        801-582-9431 H
Yong-Shi Wu Distinguished Professor wu@physics.utah.edu  214 INSCC 801-581-6603
         
X        
Haojie Xu Grad Student haojie.xu@utah.edu  305-5 INSCC N/A
Xiaoju Xu Grad Student   350-24 INSCC N/A
         
Y        
Shuhei Yamamoto Grad Student shuhei.yamamoto.2011@gmail.com  205-4B INSCC N/A
Jun Yang Post Doc linziran1@gmail.com  318 INSCC N/A
Yue Yao Grad Student yue.yao@utah.edu  211-15 SP N/A
Tian Ye Grad Student ye.tian@utah.edu  N/A N/A
Tamara Young Academic Advisor tamara@physics.utah.edu  202 JFB 801-581-7910
      240 CSC (Fridays) 801-587-0642
Gongqi Yu Grad Student yugongqi@gmail.com  124 INSCC (Lab) N/A
         
Z        
Gail Zasowski Assistant Professor zasowski@physics.utah.edu   322 INSCC 801-585-5383
Qingji Zeng Grad Student qingji.zeng@utah.edu  N/A N/A
Yaxin Zhai Grad Student yaxin.zhai@utah.edu  226-A SP N/A
Rong Zhang Grad Student zhangrong.cassie@gmail.com  211-17 SP N/A
Ting Zhang Grad Student ting.zhang@utah.edu  N/A N/A
Yue Zhao Assistant Professor zhaoyue@physics.utah.edu 216
INSCC

801-
585-9109

Xiaotong Zheng Grad Student xiaotong.zheng@utah.edu  212A-5 JFB N/A
Zheng Zheng Associate Professor zhengzheng@phhysics.utah.edu  326 INSCC 801-581-8975
Hui Zhou Grad Student sophiz1869@hotmail.com  N/A N/A

To edit FAR pages, please login here. If you need help editing your FAR page, or do not have a FAR page, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . To edit staff emeritus pages, or corrections to this page, please contact the webmaster (email at the bottom of this page).

Last Updated: 2/1/19