You are here:

All Faculty

To learn more about the people that make up our department, click their names. To see a list of people by title, click the appropriate links under "People" in the left-hand menu. To search on this page, type "CTRL" + "F" (on Mac: "⌘ Cmd" + "F"). Legend: H = Home, C = Work Cell

ALL PEOPLEALL FACULTYALL STAFFALL POST DOCSALL GRADUATE STUDENTS

**This information taken from the latest version of the department directory. Instructions for changes corrections at bottom of page.

Name

Title

Email

Office

Phone

A   
Rasha Abbasi Research Assistant Professor rasha@cosmic.utah.edu 226 INSCC 801-581-8206
Udara Abeysekara Research Assistant Professor a.abeysekara@utah.edu 223 PHYS N/A
Tareq Abu-Zayyad Research Associate Professor tareq@cosmic.utah.edu 226 INSCC 801-581-8206
David Ailion Professor dailion@physics.utah.edu 218 JFB 801-581-6973
B    
Lauren Barth-Cohen Adjunct Assistant Professor lauren.barthcohen@utah.edu   801-581-7148
Ramón Barthelemy Assistant Professor ramon.s.barthelemy@utah.edu  218 INSCC  N/A
John Belz Associate Professor

belz@physics.utah.edu

228 INSCC 801-585-9620 
Doug Bergman Associate Professor bergman@physics.utah.edu 230 INSCC 801-585-5973
Christoph Boehme Professor/Interim Chair boehme@physics.utah.edu

301 JFB

 

201-B (Chair)

801-581-6806

801-581-3538

      B-16 JFB (Lab) N/A
     

B-24 JFB (Lab)

B-25 JFB (Lab)

138 INSCC (Lab)

N/A


801-585-5999

801-581-4137

Ben Bromley Professor/Associate Chair bromley@physics.utah.edu 220 INSCC 801-581-8227
Joel Brownstein Research Associate Professor joelbrownstein@physics.utah.edu 312 INSCC 801-585-1824
Tabitha Buehler Associate Professor (Lecturer) tabitha.buehler@utah.utah.edu 314 INSCC 801-587-9780
C    
George Cassiday Professor cassiday@physics.utah.edu  B-5 JFB 801-581-6635
D    
Kyle Dawson Professor kdawson@astro.utah.edu  328 INSCC 801-581-4785
      106 JFB (Lab) N/A
Shanti Deemyad Associate Professor deemyad@physics.utah.edu 311 JFB 801-585-5955
     

323 JFB (Lab)

333 JFB (Lab)

B-22 JFB (Lab)

N/A

N/A


N/A

John DeFord Professor golfcalc@aol.com  B-6 JFB 801-581-8396
Claudia De Grandi Assistant Professor (Lecturer) degrandi@physics.utah.edu  JFB 313 801-581-4826
Vikram Deshpande Assistant Professor vikramvd@gmail.com 303 JFB 801-581-6570
      B-10 JFB (Lab) N/A
     

B-18 JFB (Lab)

B-21 JFB (Lab)

N/A


N/A

Carleton DeTar Professor detar@physics.utah.edu  212 INSCC 801-581-7537
E    
Alexei Efros Distinguished Emeritus Professor efros@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
F    
G    
Jordan Gerton Associate Professor/Assoc. Chair jgerton@physics.utah.edu   464 INSCC 801-585-0068
      134 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
      151 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Paolo Gondolo Professor paolo.gondolo@utah.edu  310 INSCC 801-581-7788
H    
Frank Harris Professor harris@physics.utah.edu  204 JFB 801-581-8445
I    
Richard Ingebretsen Professor (Lecturer) richi47@comcast.net  B-7 JFB N/A
J    
Charlie Jui Professor jui@physics.utah.edu  222 INSCC 801-581-7186
K    
David Kieda Professor/Dean Grad School kieda@physics.utah.edu  

302 Park

 

215 PHYS

801-581-6926

801-581-5220

      106 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
      107 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
Karel Kuchar Emeritus Professor kuchar@physics.utah.edu  224 PHYS 801-581-5083
L    
Evan Lafalce Research Assistant Professor elafalce@physics.utah.edu  314 JFB N/A
Gernot Laicher Research Associate Professor gernot@physics.utah.edu  410 PHYS 801-585-5553
Stephan LeBohec Associate Professor lebohec@physics.utah.edu  219 PHYS 801-587-9923
      107 JFB (Lab) N/A
Sarah Li Assistant Professor sarahli@physics.utah.edu  310 JFB 801-581-6408
John Lupton Research Professor lupton@physics.utah.edu  315 JFB 801-581-4137
M    
Hans Malissa Research Assistant Professor hmalissa@physics.utah.edu  222 PHYS N/A
John Matthews Research Professor: Cosmic Ray jnm@cosmic.utah.edu  224 INSCC 801-585-5505
      120 JFB (Lab) 801-209-1006 C
Dan Mattis Emeritus Professor mattis@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-363-3444 H
Eugene Mishchenko Professor mishch@physics.utah.edu  216 JFB 801-581-7115
N    
Tino Nyawelo Assistant Professor (Lecturer) tnyawelo@physics.utah.edu  452 INSCC 801-581-5306
O    
Bill Ohlsen Emeritus Professor ohlsen@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-364-2159 H
P    
Anthony Pantziris Associate Professor (Lecturer) app@physics.utah.edu  B-2 JFB 801-587-3325
R    
Mikhail (Misha) Raikh Professor raikh@physics.utah.edu 305 JFB 801-585-5017
        801-583-4907 H
Andrey Rogachev Associate Professor rogachev@physics.utah.edu  306 JFB 801-585-0792
     

123 INSCC (Lab)

125 INSCC (Lab)

131 INSCC (Lab)

801-585-7416



N/A

Sid Rudolph Emeritus Research Professor sid@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
        801-466-6380 H
S    
Saveez Saffarian Associate Professor saffarian@physics.utah.edu  124-A CSC 801-581-5716
      B-23 JFB (Lab) N/A
      204 LS N/A
Pearl Sandick Associate Professor sandick@physics.utah.edu  210 INSCC 801-581-8397
Anil Seth Associate Professor aseth@astro.utah.edu  330 INSCC 801-585-7793
Pierre Sokolsky Distinguished Professor ps@physics.utah.edu  242 INSCC 801-581-5398
Wayne Springer Professor springer@physics.utah.edu  216 PHYS 801-585-1390
Oleg Starykh Professor starykh@physics.utah.edu   304 JFB 801-581-6424
Christopher Stone Associate Professor (Lecturer) c.stone@physics.utah.edu  B-4 JFB

801-585-9850
Bill Sutherland Emeritus Professor suther@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
Orest Symko Professor orest@physics.utah.edu  316 JFB 801-581-6132
      111 JFB (Lab) N/A
T    
Craig Taylor Emeritus Professor  pctaylor@mines.edu   CO School of Mines 303-273-3586
Gordon Thomson Emeritus Professor  thomson@physics.utah.edu  NA NA
V    
Valy Vardeny Distinguished Professor val@physics.utah.edu  215 JFB 801-581-8372
      323 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-11 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-12 JFB (Lab) 801-581-4402
      B-15 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-17 JFB (Lab) N/A
      128 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Michael Vershinin Assistant Professor vershinin@physics.utah.edu  CSC 132-A

801-581-5803
      120-C INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
W    
Daniel Wik Assistant Professor wik@physics.utah.edu  320 INSCC 801-585-5832
Clayton Williams Professor clayton@physics.utah.edu  217 JFB 801-585-3226
      122 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      124 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      126 INSCC (Lab) N/A
George Williams Emeritus Professor georgeyak80@hotmail.com  N/A 801-484-0449
Yong-Shi Wu Distinguished Professor wu@physics.utah.edu  214 INSCC 801-581-6603
Z    
Gail Zasowski Assistant Professor gail.zasowski@gmail.com  322 INSCC 801-585-5383
Yue Zhao Assistant Professor zhaoyue@physics.utah.edu  216 INSCC 801-585-9109
Zheng Zheng Associate Professor zhengzheng@physics.utah.edu 326 INSCC 801-581-8975

To edit FAR pages, please login here. If you need help editing your FAR page, or do not have a FAR page, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . To edit staff emeritus pages, or corrections to this page, please contact the webmaster (email at the bottom of this page).

Last Updated: 12/10/19