You are here:

All Faculty

To learn more about the people that make up our department, click their names. To see a list of people by title, click the appropriate links under "People" in the left-hand menu. To search on this page, type "CTRL" + "F" (on Mac: "⌘ Cmd" + "F"). Legend: H = Home, C = Work Cell

ALL PEOPLEALL FACULTYALL STAFFALL POST DOCSALL GRADUATE STUDENTS

**This information taken from the latest version of the department directory. Instructions for changes corrections at bottom of page.

Name

Title

Email

Office

Phone

A   
Rasha Abbasi Research Assistant Professor rasha@cosmic.utah.edu 240-6 INSCC 801-585-0809
Udara Abeysekara Research Assistant Professor udarabeysekara@yahoo.com 223 SP N/A
Tareq Abu-Zayyad Research Associate Professor tareq@cosmic.utah.edu 246 INSCC 801-581-5504
David Ailion Professor dailion@physics.utah.edu 218 JFB 801-581-6973
B    
John Belz Associate Professor

belz@physics.utah.edu

228 INSCC 801-585-9620
Mourad Bendjennat Research Assistant Professor mourad.bendjennat@utah.edu N/A N/A
Doug Bergman Associate Professor bergman@physics.utah.edu 230 INSCC 801-585-5973
Christoph Boehme Professor boehme@physics.utah.edu 301 JFB 801-581-6806
      B-21 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-24 JFB (Lab) N/A
Ben Bromley Professor bromley@physics.utah.edu 218 INSCC 801-581-8227
Joel Brownstein Research Associate Professor joelbrownstein@physics.utah.edu 312 INSCC 801-585-1824
Tabitha Buehler Associate Professor (Lecturer) tabitha@physics.utah.edu 314 INSCC 801-587-9780
C    
Robert Cady Research Assistant Professor rcady@physics.utah.edu 220 INSCC 801-585-0060
George Cassiday Professor cassiday@physics.utah.edu  B-5 JFB 801-581-6635
D    
Kyle Dawson Associate Professor kdawson@physics.utah.edu  328 INSCC 801-581-4785
      106 JFB (Lab) N/A
Shanti Deemyad Associate Professor deemyad@physics.utah.edu 311 JFB 801-585-5955
      B-22 JFB (Lab) N/A
John DeFord Professor golfcalc@aol.com  B-6 JFB 801-581-8396
Claudia De Grandi Assistant Professor (Lecturer) degrandi@physics.utah.edu  JFB 313 801-581-4826
Vikram Deshpande Assistant Professor vdesh@physics.utah.edu 303 JFB 801-581-6570
      B-10 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-18 JFB (Lab) N/A
Carleton DeTar Professor detar@physics.utah.edu  212 INSCC 801-581-7537
E    
Alexei Efros Distinguished Emeritus Professor efros@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
F    
Grant Fowles Emeritus Professor      
G    
Jordan Gerton Associate Professor/Assoc. Chair jgerton@physics.utah.edu   464 INSCC 801-585-0068
      134 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
      151 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Paolo Gondolo Professor paolo.gondolo@utah.edu  310 INSCC 801-581-7788
H    
Frank Harris Professor harris@physics.utah.edu  204 JFB 801-581-8445
I    
Richard Ingebretsen Professor (Lecturer) richi47@comcast.net  B-7 JFB 801-581-7166
Inese Ivans Assistant Professor iii@physics.utah.edu  324 INSCC 801-585-5483
J    
Charlie Jui Professor jui@physics.utah.edu  222 INSCC 801-581-7186
K    
David Kieda Professor/Dean Grad School kieda@physics.utah.edu   302 Park 801-581-6926
      109 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
      110 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
Karel Kuchar Emeritus Professor kuchar@physics.utah.edu  224 SP 801-581-5083
L    
Evan Lafalce Research Assistant Professor elafalce@physics.utah.edu  337-2 JFB N/A
Gernot Laicher Research Associate Professor gernot@physics.utah.edu  410 SP 801-585-5553
      101 SP (Lab) 801-581-4826
      B-25 JFB (Lab) N/A
Stephan LeBohec Associate Professor lebohec@physics.utah.edu  217 SP 801-587-9923
      107 JFB (Lab) N/A
Sarah Li Assistant Professor sarahli@physics.utah.edu  310 JFB 801-581-6408
      B13/14 JFB (Lab) N/A
John Lupton Research Professor lupton@physics.utah.edu  315 JFB 801-581-6408
      133 INSCC (Lab) N/A
      138 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-4137
M    
Hans Malissa Research Assistant Professor hmalissa@physics.utah.edu  222 SP 801-585-0485
John Matthews Research Professor: Cosmic Ray jnm@cosmic.utah.edu  224 INSCC 801-581-5505
      120 JFB (Lab) 801-209-1006 C
Dan Mattis Emeritus Professor mattis@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-363-3444 H
Eugene Mishchenko Professor mishch@physics.utah.edu  216 JFB 801-581-7115
N    
Tino Nyawelo Assistant Professor (Lecturer) tnyawelo@physics.utah.edu  1228 SAEC 801-581-5306
O    
Bill Ohlsen Emeritus Professor ohlsen@physics.utah.edu  B-3 JFB 801-364-2159 H
P    
Anthony Pantziris Associate Professor (Lecturer) app@physics.utah.edu  B-2 JFB 801-587-3325
Dmytro (Dima) Pesin Assistant Professor pesin@physics.utah.edu  302 JFB 801-581-3690
Richard Price Emeritus Professor   SETB 1.354 (956) 882-6648
R    
Mikhail (Misha) Raikh Professor raikh@physics.utah.edu 305 JFB 801-585-5017
        801-583-4907 H
Andrey Rogachev Associate Professor rogachev@physics.utah.edu  306 JFB 801-585-0792
      123 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-7416
Sid Rudolph Emeritus Research Professor sid@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
        801-466-6380 H
S    
Saveez Saffarian Associate Professor saffarian@physics.utah.edu  308 JFB 801-581-5716
      B-23 JFB (Lab) N/A
      204 LS N/A
Pearl Sandick Associate Professor sandick@physics.utah.edu  210 INSCC 801-581-8397
Anil Seth Associate Professor aseth@astro.utah.edu  322 INSCC 801-585-7793
Pierre Sokolsky Distinguished Professor ps@physics.utah.edu  242 INSCC 801-581-5398
Wayne Springer Professor springer@physics.utah.edu  216 SP 801-585-1390
Oleg Starykh Professor starykh@physics.utah.edu   304 JFB 801-581-6424
Christopher Stone Associate Professor (Lecturer) cstone@dsdmail.net  Bountiful High School 801-402-3910
      124 JFB (Summer) 801-585-9850
Bill Sutherland Emeritus Professor suther@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
Orest Symko Professor orest@physics.utah.edu  316 JFB 801-581-6132
      112 JFB (Lab) N/A
      113 JFB (Lab) 801-581-7011
      119 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-13 JFB (Lab) 801-581-7011
T    
Craig Taylor Emeritus Professor pctaylor@mines.edu 
CO School of Mines 303-273-3586
Gordon Thomson Professor, Jack W. Keuffel Chair in Experimental Astrophysics thomson@physics.utah.edu  244 INSCC 801-585-1849
Peter Trapa Professor/Chair chair@physics.utah.edu  201-B JFB 801-581-3538
V    
Valy Vardeny Distinguished Professor val@physics.utah.edu  215 JFB 801-581-8372
      323 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-10 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-11 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-12 JFB (Lab) 801-581-4402
      B-15 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-17 JFB (Lab) N/A
      128 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Michael Vershinin Assistant Professor vershinin@physics.utah.edu  307 JFB 801-581-5803
      125 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
W    
Daniel Wik Assistant Professor wik@astro.utah.edu  320 INSCC 801-585-5832
Clayton Williams Professor clayton@physics.utah.edu  217 JFB 801-585-3226
      122 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      124 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      126 INSCC (Lab) N/A
George Williams Emeritus Professor georgeyak80@hotmail.com  N/A N/A
John Worlock Research Professor worlock@physics.utah.edu  315 JFB 801-581-4483
        801-582-9431 H
Yong-Shi Wu Distinguished Professor wu@physic.utah.edu  214 INSCC 801-581-6603
Z    
Gail Zasowski Assistant Professor zasowski@physics.utah.edu  322 INSCC 801-585-5383
Yue Zhao Assistant Professor zhaoyue@physics.utah.edu  216 INSCC 801-585-9109
Zheng Zheng Associate Professor zhengzheng@physics.utah.edu 320 INSCC 801-581-8975

To edit FAR pages, please login here. If you need help editing your FAR page, or do not have a FAR page, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . To edit staff emeritus pages, or corrections to this page, please contact the webmaster (email at the bottom of this page).

Last Updated: 1/22/19