You are here:

People

To learn more about the people that make up our department, click their names. To see a list of people by title, click the appropriate links under "People" in the left-hand menu. To search on this page, type "CTRL" + "F" (on Mac: "⌘ Cmd" + "F"). Legend: H = Home, C = Work Cell

ALL PEOPLEALL FACULTYALL STAFFALL POST DOCSALL GRADUATE STUDENTS

**This information taken from the latest version of the department directory. Instructions for changes corrections at bottom of page.

Name

Title

Email

Office

Phone

A        
Rasha Abbasi Research Assistant Professor rasha@cosmic.utah.edu  226 INSCC 801-581-8206
Udara Abeysekara Research Assistant Professor  a.abeysekara@utah.edu  223 PHYS N/A
Tareq Abu-Zayyad Research Associate Professor tareq@cosmic.utah.edu  226 INSCC 801-581-8206
Megha Agarwal Grad Student  agarwalmegha1991@gmail.com  402-06 PHYS N/A
Giancarlo Aguirre Grad Student    NA NA
David Ailion Professor dailion@physics.utah.edu  218 JFB 801-581-6973
Aishwarya Ashok Grad Student aish.ash.ashok@gmail.com 

305 INSCC

N/A
Sabastian Atwood Grad Student sabatwood@gmail.com  336-5 JFB NA
         
B        
Doug Baird Grad Student/Post Doc doug.baird@utah.edu  336-2 JFB N/A
Ahron Barber Grad Student barber@physics.utah.edu  214-A PHYS 801-581-6203
Lauren Barth-Cohen Adjunct Assistant Professor lauren.barthcohen@utah.edu   801-581-7148
Ramón Barthelemy Assistant Professor ramon.s.barthelemy@utah.edu 218 INSCC  
Adam Beehler Lecture Demonstration Specialist beehler@physics.utah.edu  B-8 JFB 801-581-6602
Philip Beltracchi Grad Student phipbel@@aol.com  205-5A INSCC N/A
John Belz Associate Professor belz@physics.utah.edu  228 INSCC 801-585-9620
Doug Bergman Associate Professor bergman@physics.utah.edu  230 INSCC 801-585-5973
Tushar Bhowmick Grad Student t.bhowmick@utah.edu   N/A
Nicholas Boardman Post Doc nick.boardman@astro.utah.edu 318 INSCC N/A
Christoph Boehme Professor/Interim Chair boehme@physics.utah.edu 

301 JFB

 

201-B JFB (Chair)

 

B-16 JFB (Lab) 

B-24 JFB (Lab)

B-25 JFB

 

138 INSCC (Lab)

801-581-6806
801-581-3538 

N/A


N/A


801-585-5999
801-581-4137 

Jaspal Bola Grad Student jaspal.iisc@gmail.com    N/A
Allyson Brodzeller Grad Student allyson.brodzeller@utah.edu 402 PHYS  N/A
Ben Bromley Professor/Associate Chair bromley@physics.utah.edu 

220
INSCC

 

801-581-8227
Isaac Brown-Heft Grad Student i.brownheft@utah.edu    N/A
Joel Brownstein Research Associate Professor joelbrownstein@physics.utah.edu  312 INSCC 801-585-1824
Isaac Buckland Graduate Student u0790821@utah.edu    
Tabitha Buehler Associate Professor (Lecturer) tabitha.buehler@utah.edu  314 INSCC 801-587-9780
         
C        
Weizhao Cai Post Doc wzhcai@gmail.com  B-22 JFB (Lab)  801-587-3692
Julie Callahan Program Coordinator - ASPIRE julie@cosmic.utah.edu  266 INSCC 801-585-9331
George Cassiday Professor cassiday@physics.utah.edu  B-5 JFB 801-581-6635
Marzieh Chaharlang Grad Student marzieh.chaharlang@yahoo.com    N/A
Su-Kong Chong Grad Student sukong.chong@utah.edu  211-5 PHYS N/A
Callie Clontz Grad Student u1271861@utah.edu 402 PHYS N/A
         
D        
Kevin Davenport Grad Student kevin.davenport@utah.edu  211-2 PHYS N/A
Kyle Dawson Professor kdawson@astro.utah.edu  328 INSCC 801-581-4785
      106 JFB (Lab) N/A
Shanti Deemyad Associate Professor deemyad@physics.utah.edu 

311 JFB

 

323 JFB (Lab)

333 JFB (Lab)

B-22 JFB (Lab)  

801-585-5955
N/A

N/A


N/A  

         
John DeFord Professor golfcalc@aol.com  B-6 JFB 801-581-8396
Claudia De Grandi Assistant Professor (Lecturer) degrandi@physics.utah.edu  313 JFB 801-581-4826
Vikram Deshpande Assistant Professor vikramvd@gmail.com 303 JFB 801-581-6570
      B-10 JFB (Lab) N/A
     

B-18 JFB (Lab)

B-21 JFB (Lab)

N/A


N/A

Carleton DeTar Professor detar@physics.utah.edu  212 INSCC 801-581-7537
Marcia Cook deWolfe

Manager, Accounting 
Finance

 

marcia.cook@utah.edu 203 JFB 801-581-6374
Cyri Dixon Undergraduate Advisor cyri.dixon@utah.edu 240-D CSC 801-587-0650
Florence Doval Grad Student florencedoval@gmail.com  120 CSC (Lab) N/A
Helion du Mas des Bourboux Post Doc h.du.mas.des.bourboux@utah.edu  324 INSCC N/A
Antoine Dumont Grad Student antoine.dumont.neira@hotmail.com  305 INSCC N/A
         
E        
Alexei Efros Distinguished Emeritus Professor efros@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
Sarah 
Eftekharzadeh
Post Doc sarahe@astro.utah.edu 314
INSCC
801-587-9780 
F        
Samuel Feldman Grad Student u1272693@utah.edu    
Sanduni Fernando Grad Student sanduni.fernando@utah.edu 402-11 PHYS NA
         
Devon Fischer Grad Student devon.fisch@gmail.com  211-3 PHYS NA
Bartosz Fornal Post Doc bfornal@physics.utah.edu

205-2A INSCC

N/A
Heidi Frank Administrative Manager/Chair's Assistant heidi@physics.utah.edu  202 JFB 801-581-5697
Hannah Fritze Grad Student hannah.fritze@utah.edu 402-11 PHYS N/A
Greg Furlich Grad Student greg.furlich@utah.edu  240-1B INSCC N/A
         
G        
Anthony Garcia Grad Student anthonygarcia918@hotmail.com  305-4A INSCC N/A
Jordan Gerton Associate Professor/Assoc. Chair jgerton@physics.utah.edu  464 INSCC 801-585-0068
      134 INSCC (Lab) 801-581-5078
      151 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Benjamin Gibson Grad Student ben.gibson@utah.edu N/A N/A
Paolo Gondolo Professor paolo.gondolo@utah.edu  310 INSCC 801-581-7788
Ricardo Gonzalez Grad Student u1272691@utah.edu N/A N/A
         
H        
Bill Hanlon Post Doc whanlon@cosmic.utah.edu  246 INSCC 801-581-7452
Christian Hannah Grad Student u1272674@utah.edu N/A N/A
Frank Harris Professor harris@physics.utah.edu  204 JFB 801-581-8445
Sten Hasselquist  Post Doc sthasselquist@gmail.com  324 INSCC NA
Brad Hawks Unix Systems Administrator brad@physics.utah.edu 

304-B PHYS

801-585-5801

    page-brad@physics.utah.edu    801-243-5583 C
Heshan Hewa-Walpitage Grad Student hwhsweerasinghe@gmail.com  402-10 PHYS 204-437-4260
         
Uyen Huynh Post Doc uyen.huynh@utah.edu 337 JFB   N/A
         
I        
Richard Ingebretsen Professor (Lecturer) richi47@comcast.net  B-7 JFB N/A
Dmitri Ivanov Post Doc dmiivanov@gmail.com 246 INSCC 801-581-3908
J        
Charlie Jui Professor jui@physics.utah.edu  222 INSCC 801-581-7186
K        
Dipak Khanal Grad Student dip_89raj@yahoo.com  209-6 JFB N/A
David Kieda Professor/Grad School Dean dave.kieda@utah.edu   215 PHYS 801-581-5220
      106 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
      107 JFB (Lab) 801-587-7700
      302 PARK 801-581-6926
JiHee Kim Grad Student jihee.kim@cosmic.utah.edu  246 INSCC N/A
Austin King Grad Student austin.king@utah.edu N/A 801-652-2027
Karel Kuchar Emeritus Professor kuchar@physics.utah.edu  224 PHYS 801-581-5083
Rohit Kumar Grad Student rohit.iit30@gmail.com  211-8 PHYS N/A
         
L        
Evan Lafalce Research Assistant Professor elafalce@physics.utah.edu  314 JFB N/A
Gernot Laicher Research Associate Professor gernot@physics.utah.edu  410 PHYS 801-585-5553
Stephan LeBohec Associate Professor lebohec@physics.utah.edu  219 PHYS 801-587-9923
 Andy Lee  Computer Technician andy@physics.utah.edu 307 JFB 801-581-6026
Ryan LeVon Grad Student rtlevon@gmail.com  NA NA
Chonghuan Li Grad Student Chonghuan.Li@utah.edu  N/A NA
Sarah Li Assistant Professor sarahli@physics.utah.edu  310 JFB 801-581-6408
Jianhui Lian Post Doc u6016389@utah.edu 318 INSCC N/A
Samuel Liebersbach Grad Student u1272405@utah.edu    
Chuankun Liu Grad Student chuankun.liu@utah.edu  211-14 PHYS N/A
Hao-Liang Liu Research Assistant Professor liuhaoliang03@gmail.com  337-4 JFB N/A
Shuwan Liu Grad Student shuwan.liu@utah.edu  211-4 PHYS N/A
Xiaojie Liu Grad Student jackyliu0826@gmail.com  211-1 PHYS N/A
Zhiheng Liu Sr. Optical Engineer zhliu@physics.utah.edu  192 INSCC 801-581-7001
Neda Lotfizadeh Grad Student n.lotfizadeh@gmail.com  N/A N/A
John Lupton Research Professor lupton@physics.utah.edu  315 JFB 801-581-4137
         
M        
Hans Malissa Research Assistant Professor hmalissa@physics.utah.edu  222 PHYS N/A
Jason Martineau Grad Student jtmartineau.work@gmail.com  134 INSCC (Lab) N/A
John Matthews Research Professor: Cosmic Ray jnm@cosmic.utah.edu  224 INSCC 801-581-5505
      120 JFB (Lab) 801-209-1006 C
Nolan Matthews Grad Student nolankmatthews@gmail.com  220-B PHYS N/A
Dan Mattis Emeritus Professor mattis@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-363-3444 H
Jason May Grad Student jason.may@utah.edu   402-16 PHYS NA
Kevin McCarthy Grad Student kevin.mccarthy@utah.edu 350-7C INSCC N/A
Gary McDonough Senior Technician: Cosmic Ray gary@physics.utah.edu  266 INSCC 801-581-7983
Frank Misak Administrative Assistant: Cosmic Ray misak@cosmic.utah.edu  227 INSCC 801-581-6628
Eugene Mishchenko Professor mishch@physics.utah.edu  216 JFB 801-581-7115
Mirna Mohamed Grad Student mirna.mohamed@utah.edu 220-A PHYS N/A
David Morison Grad Student nosiromdivad@gmail.com 213-B PHYS N/A
Ed Munford Machine Shop Manager edm@physics.utah.edu  116 JFB 801-581-6242
      104 PHYS 801-581-6697
Ben Murphy Assistant Data Scientist n.benjamin.murphy@astro.utah.edu  318 INSCC N/A
         
N        
Adnan Nahlawi Grad Student adnan.nahlawi@utah.edu    N/A
Bryce Nelson Graduate Coordinator bryce@physics.utah.edu 201-D JFB 801-
581-6861
Michael Newbold Grad Student historypie@yahoo.com  214-B PHYS 801-581-6203
Shiyu Nie Grad Student Shiyu.Nie@utah.edu  350-24 INSCC N/A
Vicki Nielsen Payroll Accountant

vicki@physics.utah.edu

physicsaccounting@utah.edu 

203 JFB 801-585-1485
         
James Norwood Stockroom Store Keeper james@physics.utah.edu  102 PHYS 801-581-6063
    stockroom@physics.utah.edu     
         
         
Tino Nyawelo Assistant Professor (Lecturer) tnyawelo@physics.utah.edu  452 INSCC 801-581-5306
         
O        
Observatory Facility observatory@physics.utah.edu  Roof PHYS 801-58-SPACE (587-7223)
Bill Ohlsen Emeritus Professor ohlsen@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-364-2159 H
         
P        
Xin Pan Grad Student xin.pan@physics.utah.edu 211-11 PHYS N/A
Anthony Pantziris Associate Professor (Lecturer) app@physics.utah.edu  B-2 JFB 801-587-3325
Renuka Pechetti Grad Student renuka.pechetti@utah.edu 305-8B INSCC N/A
Krista Perkins Grants Contract Officer  krista@physics.utah.edu  309 JFB 801-585-0182
Vijith Poovelil Grad Student u1063369@utah.edu 305 INSCC 801-458-2432
Henna Popli Grad Student henna_popli@yahoo.com 336-6 JFB N/A
Cicely Potts Grad Student u0857501@utah.edu N/A N/A
Matthew Potts Grad Student potts.matt.93@gmail.com   801-824-9008
R        
Mikhail (Misha) Raikh Professor raikh@physics.utah.edu  305 JFB 801-585-5017
        801-583-4907 H
Jackson Remington Grad Student jremington@cosmic.utah.edu 240-7 INSCC 801-585-7793
Paul Ricketts Observatory observatory@physics.utah.edu  Roof PHYS 801-58-SPACE (587-7223)
Andrey Rogachev Associate Professor rogachev@physics.utah.edu  306 JFB 801-585-0792
     

123 INSCC (Lab)

125 INSCC (Lab)

131 INSCC (Lab)

801-585-7416

N/A



N/A

 

 

 

Randall Rohas-Bolivar Grad Student rrojasbo@umass.edu N/A N/A
Steven Rossland Grad Student coimhead1643@gmail.com  305-2 INSCC N/A
Sid Rudolph Emeritus Research Professor sid@physics.utah.edu  N/A 801-466-6380 H
         
S        
Saveez Saffarian Associate Professor saffarian@physics.utah.edu 

124-A CSC

 

B-23 JFB (Lab)  

801-581-5716 

N/A

 

      204 LS N/A
Ipsita Saha Grad Student ipsitasaha92@gmail.com  1st Floor CSC N/A
Pearl Sandick Associate Professor sandick@physics.utah.edu  210 INSCC 801-581-8397
Anil Seth Associate Professor aseth@astro.utah.edu  330 INSCC 801-585-7793
Barmak Es Haghi Sham Post Doc barmak.shams@utah.edu 205 INSCC N/A
Abhimanya Sharma Grad Student sabhimanyu92@gmail.com  211-12 PHYS N/A
Matt Sheffield Post Doc u6021628@utah.edu 322 JFB 801-585-1745
Harold Simpson Facilities Director hsimpson@physics.utah.edu  304-C PHYS 801-581-3839
        801-244-1017 C
Jeremy Smith Senior Engineer: Cosmic Ray jeremy@cosmic.utah.edu  250 INSCC 801-581-5053
Pierre Sokolsky Distinguished Professor ps@physics.utah.edu  242 INSCC 801-581-5398
Wayne Springer Professor springer@physics.utah.edu  216 PHYS 801-585-1390
Oleg Starykh Professor starykh@physics.utah.edu  304 JFB 801-581-6424
Christopher Stone Associate Professor (Lecturer) cstone@physics.utah.edu B-4 JFB  801-585-9850
Emily Strickland Grad Student e.strickland@utah.edu 402 PHYS N/A
Xuefang Sui Grad Student suixuefang@gmail.com  305-4B INSCC N/A
Bill Sutherland Emeritus Professor suther@physics.utah.edu  N/A N/A
Michele Swaner Advancement Coordinator: Math and Physics Astronomy swaner@science.utah.edu  201-A JFB (PM)  233 JWB (AM)  801-580-9590
Orest Symko Professor orest@physics.utah.edu  316 JFB 801-581-6132
      211 JFB (Lab) N/A
T        
Michael Talbot Grad Student michaeltalbot@astro.utah.edu 305-1B INSCC N/A
Rochelle Tarin-Olivas Executive Secretary rochelle@physics.utah.edu 201-C JFB 801-585-1754
Craig Taylor Emeritus Professor pctaylor@mines.edu  
CO School of Mines 303-273-3586
Mandefro Teferi Grad Student mandefero2002@yahoo.com  336-3 JFB N/A
Taniya Haniska Tennahewa Grad Student trrish1990@gmail.com 336-4 JFB  N/A
Stan Thomas Senior Engineer: Cosmic Ray thomas@physics.utah.edu  250 INSCC 801-581-8650
Gordon Thomson Emeritus Professor   thomson@physics.utah.edu  NA NA
Josh Tomlin Accountant josh@physics.utah.edu  203 JFB 801-587-7839
    physicsaccounting@utah.edu     
Ryuichi Tsuchikawa Post Doc ryuichipt@gmail.com  322-3 JFB N/A
Aysegul Tumer Post Doc aysegultumer@gmail.com 316 INSCC 801-585-1824
U        
Lena Uta’i Accounting Clerk marlena.utai@utah.edu   203 JFB 801-585-5868
    physicsaccounting@utah.edu     
V        
Alejandro Vaquero Post Doc alexvaq@physics.utah.edu 205-3B INSCC 801-585-7653
Valy Vardeny Distinguished Professor val@physics.utah.edu  215 JFB 801-581-8372
      323 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-11 JFB (Lab)  N/A
      B-12 JFB (Lab) 801-581-4402
      B-15 JFB (Lab) N/A
      B-17 JFB (Lab) N/A
      128 INSCC (Lab) N/A
Michael Vershinin Assistant Professor vershinin@physics.utah.edu 

132- A CSC

 

120-C CSC 

801-581-5803

W        
Maoji Wang Grad Student maoji.wang@utah.edu N/A N/A
Qian Wang Post Doc qian.wang@live.com N/A N/A
Ren-Bo Wang Grad Student rbwang1225@gmail.com  N/A N/A
Daniel Wik Assistant Professor wik@physics.utah.edu  320 INSCC 801-585-5832
Clayton Williams Professor clayton@physics.utah.edu  217 JFB 801-585-3226
      122 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      124 INSCC (Lab) 801-585-1138
      126 INSCC (Lab) N/A
George Williams Emeritus Professor georgeyak80@hotmail.com  N/A 801-484-0449
Patrick Wright Lab Aide dpgboys@hotmail.com 266 INSCC 801-209-1154
Mary Ann Woolf Editorial Assistant (for large courses) woolf@physics.utah.edu  205 JFB 801-581-4246
Yong-Shi Wu Distinguished Professor wu@physics.utah.edu  214 INSCC 801-581-6603
         
X        
         
Y        
Yue Yao Grad Student yue.yao@utah.edu  211-15 PHYS N/A
Tian Ye Grad Student ye.tian@utah.edu  N/A N/A
Tamara Young Grad Student tamara.g.young@gmail.com 205-4 A INSCC N/A
      240 CSC (Fridays) 801-587-0642
Gongqi Yu Grad Student yugongqi123@gmail.com  124 INSCC (Lab) N/A
         
Z        
Gail Zasowski Assistant Professor gail.zasowski@gmail.com 322 INSCC 801-585-5383
Qingji Zeng Grad Student qingji.zeng@gmail.com   N/A N/A
Yue Zhao Assistant Professor zhaoyue@physics.utah.edu 216
INSCC

801-
585-9109

Zheng Zheng Associate Professor zhengzheng@physics.utah.edu  326 INSCC 801-581-8975

To edit FAR pages, please login here. If you need help editing your FAR page, or do not have a FAR page, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . To edit staff emeritus pages, or corrections to this page, please contact the webmaster (email at the bottom of this page).

Last Updated: 12/11/19