SnowCLUSTER 2013

Physics of Galaxy Clusters

March 24 - 29, 2013

Image credit: Planck Collaboration

Clusters of galaxies have long been recognized as sensitive cosmological probes. To realize their full constraining potential for "precision cosmology," it is essential to address the outstanding questions on cluster physics. The aim of this workshop is to bring together observers in the X-ray and SZ fields, people working on gravitational lensing mass measurements and non-thermal phenomena in the radio and gamma-ray bands, and theorists developing numerical simulations and working on plasma processes. The focus will be on recent progress in our understanding of the cluster physics and how the various uncertainties and nontrivial processes in the ICM may affect cosmological tests. Apart from the old workhorses such as Chandra, XMM-Newton, Suzaku, Fermi, SWIFT, GMRT, VLA and the ground-based SZ telescopes, we will discuss new results from Herschel, Planck, NuStar, and LOFAR. On a theoretical side, simulations with various microphysical properties of the ICM and the inclusion of various macroscopic effects will be discussed, as well as predictions for Astro-H.

SnowCLUSTER 2013 Talks & Slides

Topics covered:

  • SZ observations: individual clusters, samples
  • X-ray masses, baryon fractions and their use for cosmology
  • Gravitational lensing masses
  • Mass scaling relations
  • Mergers, shocks & cold fronts
  • Cluster substructure
  • Cluster outskirts
  • ICM physics
  • ICM turbulence: simulations, expectations for Astro-H
  • Cold gas in cool cores
  • AGN-ICM interaction, feedback, star formation
  • Relativistic matter in clusters: theory & observations
  • Future X-ray mission concepts

Invited speakers:

H. Akamatsu, M. Bautz, G. Brunetti, R. Cassano, E. Churazov, K. Dolag, M. Donahue, A. Edge, S. Ettori, W. Forman, S. Giacintucci, M. Johnston-Hollitt, C. Jones, T. Jones, U. Keshet, A. Kravtsov, M. Kunz, R. Laing, E. Lau, A. von der Linden, A. Mahdavi, P. Mazzotta, M. McCourt, B. McNamara, F. Menanteau, M. Meneghetti, S. Molendi, T. Mroczkowski, D. Nagai, P. Nulsen, C. Pfrommer, T. Plagge, E. Pointecouteau, S. Randall, C. Reichardt, O. Reimer, E. Roediger, H. Rottgering, L. Rudnick, H. Russell, D. Ryu, J. Sayers, A. Simionescu, S. Skillman, T. Venturi, M. Voit, R. van Weeren, N. Werner, D. Wik, I. Zhuravleva, J. ZuHone.

Monique Arnaud (CEA Saclay)
Hans Boehringer (MPE)
Max Bonamente (Univ. Alabama Huntsville)
Gianfranco Brunetti (IRA INAF Bologna)
Eugene Churazov (MPA)
Douglas Clowe (Ohio Univ.)
Tetsu Kitayama (Toho Univ.)
Andrey Kravtsov (Chicago)
Matt Kunz (Princeton)
Maxim Markevitch (NASA GSFC)
Tony Mroczkowski (JPL)