Awards, Promotions & Recognition: 2013

Our world-class faculty are renowned scholars, recognized both nationally & internationally for their research achievements. in 2013, many were recognized for their achievements in research and teaching.


John Belz
Promotion to Research Associate Professor
Christoph Boehme
Promotion to Professor
Adam Bolton
Department of Energy Early Career Award
Joel Brownstein
Promotion to Research Assistant Professor
Carleton DeTar
Distinguished Teaching Award
Jordan GertonScialog Fellows Award Charlie Jui
Honors Professorship College of Science Professorship
David Kieda
Dist. Scholarly & Creative Research Award
2012 Utah Governor’s Medal for Science & Technology
Gernot Laicher
Promotion to Research Associate Professor
Yan (Sarah) Li
New Assistant Professor in Experimental Condensed Matter. Joined the department in Jan. 2013 from Los Alamos National Lab
Andrey Rogachev
Promotion to Associate Professor