You are here:

Getting Help

Extraordinary StudentsUniversity of Utah, Tutoring

Tutoring

Most of our first year introductory courses have tutoring labs. Several days a week, a student can walk in to get help in the course they are taking. These labs are staffed by graduate student TA's who give one on one help in course topics.

The ASUU Tutoring Center often offers free physics tutoring during the fall and/or spring semesters. To learn more, visit their website or contact them at (801) 581-5153.

Department Tutors

PDF version of this list available here.

Name
E-Mail
Phone Number
Preferred Contact Method
Hourly Rate
Graduate Students      
Aishnarya Ashok aish.ash.ashok@gmail.com  385-630-1799 text or email $20
Paul Bergeron paul.bergeron@utah.edu    email $25
Marzieh Chaharlang marzieh.chaharlang@utah.edu 801-814-9747 text or email $15
Andrew Davidson andrew.davidson.physics@gmail.com  904-476-6718 text or email $20
Flo Doval florencedoval@gmail.com  509-496-7003 text or email $25
Greg Furlich greg.furlich@utah.edu  952-836-7589 email $25
Rohit Kumar rohit.iit30@gmail.com  801-935-6075 text or email $20
Run Li lirunliruntc@gmail.com    email $15
Shuwan Liu shuwan.liu@utah.edu  801-349-7357 email $15
Zhuxi Luo mercuryzx.lo@gmail.com  810-550-0930 text or email $20
Rachael Morris rachaelkmorris@gmail.com    email $25
Xin Pan xin.pan@utah.edu  385-259-2576 text or email $15
Ren Pankovich ren.pankovich@utah.edu    email $25
Vijith Jacob Poovelil vijith.jacob93@gmail.com  801-458-2432 email $20
Henna Popli henna_popli@yahoo.com  385-215-0497 text or email $20
Randall Rojas randall.rojasbolivar@utah.edu    email $15
Ipsita Saha ipsitasaha92@gmail.com  801-448-9875 text or email $20
Mogi Wang cliz305mail@gmail.com  518-556-8401 text or email $10
Ren-Bo Wang cliz305mail@gmail.com  518-556-8401 text or email $10
         
         
         
Undergraduate Students      
Samuel Cloud samueljcloud@gmail.com  435-690-1309 text or email $12
Tyler Kaiser tyler.o.kaiser@gmail.com  801-833-1695 text or email $50
Shaun Snow shaun.snow@utah.edu  801-678-9105 text $10
DISCLAIMER

The University of Utah, Department of Physics and Astronomy makes this web space available solely for the convenience of tutors and clients who are members of the U of U community. The University acts only as a clearinghouse and does not screen either the tutors or clients. The University of Utah also makes no representations as to the qualifications of the students or as to the nature of the clients. Tutors are not employees or agents of the University of Utah. Tutors and clients who use this service acknowledge that the University of Utah is not responsible for, and will be held harmless against, any injury, loss, other damage, or results arising from or related in any manner to the clients' and tutors' use of this posting web service. The clients should do their own due diligence in selecting which tutor(s) are best able to help them (i.e. ask for references, transcripts, etc. The list is updated each semester.

eTutoring

Image source: University Writing Center. Click to learn more

A FREE tutoring platform available to all undergraduate students!

You can also get help with physics (and many other subjects such as chemistry and anatomy. Full list available here) through the University of Utah's eTutoring platform. In addition, you can also get help in the eTutoring Writing Lab, where you can submit writing assignments from any course and receive feedback from a trained writing tutor within 48 hours.

Learn more at the University of Utah's eTutoring website and see how this resource can help you with your coursework.

 

Math Tutoring Center

"The Department of Math offers free drop-in tutoring for Math 990 and math classes at the 1000 and 2000 level, as well as Math 3070-3080, 3140, 3150, 3160. The tutoring center is located in room 155 of the T. Benny Rushing Mathematics Center (adjacent to the LCB and JWB. Map here). To let the tutors know that you need help, simply put up one of the flags. If you find that you'd prefer more personalized attention than our tutoring center can give, pick up a private tutor list from the math department office (233 JWB)."

Learn more at the Department of Math's Tutoring Center website.

Student Success Initiative Advocates

"You’re in. You made it. Congrats. Now what? How do you get a scholarship? Where are you going to live? No idea? No worries. We’ve got your back. All the resources you need are in one place called Student Success. Your parents, family, friends, mentors, teachers and others want you to succeed. Throughout your college experience you’ll find everything you need to succeed right here. Student Success Advocates support you in creating your success at the University of Utah. They know that your situation is unique, so they take the time to work closely with you to learn about your particular needs, aspirations, and goals." Schedule an appointment with an advocate or check out their online resources.

 

Last Updated: 12/21/18