You are here:

Departmental Scholarships

The Department of Physics & Astronomy welcomes applications from all declared undergraduate student majors in physics for all of our scholarships! Transfer and incoming first year students are also welcome to apply.

How to Apply

All applications will be submitted through the Academic Works scholarship system through the University of Utah Scholarship Office.

Complete both the University General Application and the Department of Physics & Astronomy General Application. You will automatically be reviewed for all scholarships for which you qualify.

 All department applications must have the following items, unless otherwise specified.

  •  A one-two page personal statement from the applicant describing their accomplishments, need for the scholarship, and future goals.
  • Current transcripts.
  • Two letters of support from a faculty instructor or research advisor. (Students will need to present each recommender with a Consent to Release (PDF) form.) Preference will be accorded to students with outstanding academic performance.

Students who have applied for scholarships will be reviewed by the scholarship committee in March. Students will be notified via U-mail if they are to be awarded a scholarship after the committee has made their final decision.


Department Scholarship Opportunities

Please submit all application materials through the online application system by February 15th. Please note that while the majority of our scholarships are awarded every year, there exist some scholarships that are awarded only as often as funding allows. 

Undergraduate Student Awards:

  • Paul Gilbert Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award in Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Martin Hiatt Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award
  • Thomas J. Parmley Scholarship for outstanding undergraduate students in the Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • Walter W. Wada Endowed Scholarship for physics majors (must not be scheduled to graduate in the award year)
  • Taylor Undergraduate Award for overcoming obstacles on the way to strong academic achievements
  • Tyler Soelberg Memorial Award for a senior physics major who has demonstrated exceptional performance in science coursework and creative ventures
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Senior Award
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Junior Award
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Sophomore Award
  • Department Tuition Waiver- These scholarships provide resident tuition for the academic year. Students must maintain a 3.5 GPA. Entering freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors may apply. Students must reapply each year. Students receiving “Honors at Entrance” or “Presidential” Scholarships will not be considered.

Graduate Student Awards:

  • Swigart Graduate Scholarship to support research and research-related travel of outstanding graduate students in the Department of Physics & Astronomy. Read more.
  • Outstanding Graduate Student for demonstrated success in coursework and research
  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant for exceptional fulfillment of teaching duties

Awards Open to Both Undergraduate and Graduate Students

  • Diversity Scholarship for students demonstrating exceptional commitment to the advancement of women and underrepresented groups in the fields of physics and astronomy

College of Science Scholarship Awards

Competition for College of Science scholarships are open to students with a declared major in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy. Eligibility is based on the applicant class standing for the current academic year.

Scholarship application forms are submitted through Academic Works. Search for "College of Science General Application." College of Science scholarship applications are due March 1st.


Last Updated: 1/27/20