Phys 7120
Electrodynamics II
Spring 2017

Class Meets: Lectures 10:45 am - 12:40 pm, Monday and Wednesday, LS 107.

Instructor: Oleg Starykh, 304 JFB, Email: starykh `at' physics.utah.edu

Office Hours: Thursday, 3 - 4 pm, or by appointment.

Teaching Assistant (grading): Mr. Hassan Allami

Textbooks: the course is mostly based on my lecture notes. The recommended (but not required) textbook for the class is D. B. Melrose and R. C. McPhedran, Electromagnetic processes in dispersive media. [Book's info: ISBN-10: 052101848X ; ISBN-13: 978-0521018487 ; paperback version is published by Cambridge University Press (August 22, 2005). Amazon webpage of the book is here.]

This book provides a useful perspective which we plan to use in discussing waves in media. In addition, the following books might be helpful: Landau and Lifshitz, The Theory of Fields; Jackson, Classical Electrodynamics; Brau, Modern Problems in Classical Electrodynamics.

Course Description Electrodynamics II is a second part of the year-long graduate course.

Homeworks are due on Wednesdays at 10:45 am (before the start of the class). There will be no homeworks in the weeks immediately after a midterm.

Course Objectives: This is a core first-year graduate class whose main objectives are

1. to lay down the foundations of the understanding of the field theory, including development of important math skills in applications of tensor algebra, partial differential equations, vector calculus, etc., essential for physicists of all later specializations;

2. to acquire working knowledge of the broad spectrum of electromagnetic phenomena, including practical ability to analyze them qualitatively as well as quantitatively; the problems to be addressed during this course will range from classical ones in electrostatics to modern applications, such as plasmonics.

Main topics to be covered: field of moving charges, radiation, waveguides, and electrodynamics of linear, dispersive media.

Previous semester's web page (Fall 2016, Electrodynamics I, taught by Prof. Pesin) is here.

Course requirements Lecure and discussion section attendance is expected. No late homeworks are accepted unless there is an explicit agreement with the instructor regarding this.

Grading policy and exams: 10 highest-score homeworks, 15 points each (33.3%); 2 midterms, 75 points each (33.3%); final test 150 points (33.3%); no make-up test/assignments unless for legitimate reasons: emergency (documented), university-approved travel, etc.


Class #
Date
Subject
Required Reading
Homework
Date due // Solutions
1 Mon Jan 8 Wave equation, retarded/advanced Green's function Lect1 Review Chap1,2; read Chap.4,5 of Melrose and McPhedran "EM processes in dispersive media" hw01 1/17 // sol01
2 Wed Jan 10 Lienard-Wierchert potentials, basics of scalar diffraction theory Lect2 Diffraction is described in Ch. 9.3. of Brau's book, pp.456-475
Mon Jan 15 no class: Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday
3 Wed Jan 17 Radiation, far-field approximation Lect3A and Lect3B hw02 1/24 // sol02
4 Mon Jan 22 Radiation, dipole approximation Lect4 Simple linear antenna Lect4B
5 Wed Jan 24 Electric and magnetic dipole, quadrupolar radition Lect5 hw03 1/31 // sol03
6 Mon Jan 29 Note on non-relativistic collisions note
7 Wed Jan 31 Bremsstrahlung and transition radiation Lect6 Brau Ch.10.2 hw04 2/9 // sol04
Mon Feb 5 no lecture! moved to Fri, Feb 9, 325 JFB, 12-2 pm
8 Wed Feb 7 Radiation of relativistic particles, Coulomb scattering Lect7 Brau Ch.10.2
9 Fri Feb 9 Radiation reaction, Thomson scattering cross section Lect8 [Lecture in 325 JFB, 12-2 pm] Brau Ch.11.1 hw05 2/21 // sol05
10 Mon Feb 12 Quantum theory of radiation Lect9: quantization of EM field, Lect10: quantum theory of dipole radiation note on polarization vectors + Brau Ch.4.2
11 Wed Feb 14 midterm 1: open books/notes, no internet. solutions
Mon Feb 19 no class: Presidents' Day holiday
12 Wed Feb 21 Quantum radiation cont'd; 21 cm line of hydrogen hw06 2/28 // sol06
13 Mon Feb 26 EM fields in dielectric medium Lect11 Brau, Chap.6; note on polarized sphere
14 Wed Feb 28 Kramers-Kronig relations Lect12 Melrose+McPhedran, Chap.6 hw07 3/12 // sol07
15 Mon Mar 5 Equivalent dielectric tensor, energy absorption in the medium Lect13 Melrose+McPhedran, Chap.6,7,8
16 Wed Mar 7 no class: APS March meeting
17 Mon Mar 12 Longitudinal and transverse dielectric functions Lect14 note on transverse/longitudinal separation of fields
18 Wed Mar 14 Dielectric function via Boltzmann equation Lect15, Landau damping hw08 3/28 // sol08
Mar 18-25 no class: Spring break!
19 Mon Mar 26 Waves in dispersive medium Lect16
20 Wed Mar 28 Faraday rotation, Onsager relation Lect17 hw09 4/4 // sol09
21 Mon Apr 2 Cyclotron resonance Lect18
22 Wed Apr 4 Helicons and Hall effect Lect19 note on surface plasmon-polariton hw10 4/11 // sol10
23 Mon Apr 9 Fresnel equations, reflection/refraction Lect20
24 Wed Apr 11 Reflection/refraction from conductors; Kerr rotation Lect21 note on total internal reflection hw11 4/23 // sol11
25 Mon Apr 16 midterm 2: open books/notes, no internet. solutions
26 Wed Apr 18 Electrodynamics of moving media Lect22
27 Mon Apr 23 Rotating magnetized spehere Lect23 note on Cherenkov effect
Fri Apr 27 Final exam is take-home: to be posted here on Thursday, April 26, at 11 am. The exam is due in my office on Friday, April 27, by 11 am.

Physics & Astronomy Department Home
University of Utah Content Disclaimer