You are here:

 News & Announcements 


COVID-19 Updates for U of U Campus and Community 


 Department Main Office Hours (JFB 201)

Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.


Accounting Office (JFB 203)

Mondays and Thursdays only, 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.; other times by appointment.

These hours are subject to change at any time.


Next-Gen Astronomical Survey Makes First ObservationsNext-Gen Astronomical Survey Makes First Observations

The Sloan Digital Sky Survey’s fifth generation collected its very first observations of the cosmos at 1:47 a.m. on October 24, 2020. As the world’s first all-sky time-domain spectroscopic survey, SDSS-V will provide groundbreaking insight into the formation and evolution of galaxies—like our own Milky Way—and of the supermassive black holes that lurk at their centers. SDSS-V spokesperson Gail Zasowski, an assistant professor in the University of Utah’s Department of Physics & Astronomy, talks about mapping the sky.


Snapshots: Meet Anna ChristophersonSnapshots: Meet Anna Christopherson

Recently, the Physics & Astronomy Department spoke with undergraduate Anna Christopherson about a number of things, including why she's a physics major, internships, and the secret to success in college.


Snapshots: Meet Tessa McNameeSnapshots: Meet Tessa McNamee

Recently, the Physics & Astronomy Department chatted with undergraduate Tessa McNamee about a number of things, including why she's a physics major and what makes the department special.


Last Updated: 11/8/20