Main Menu

University of Utah Physics Students Win National Recognition for Fifth Consecutive Year

The U’s Student-Led Physical Sciences Organization is recognized by being named a Distinguished SPS Chapter

The University of Utah chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has been named a Distinguished Chapter by the SPS National Office. This is the fifth year in a row the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 10% of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The U’s chapter is guided by Cyri Dixon, undergraduate advisor, and led by student officers. “I’m really proud of the efforts of our SPS students this past year,” said Dixon. “They worked to connect students to each other and new opportunities in our department, despite being off-campus and virtual the entire year. Their work has helped us move forward as we return in-person.”

The 2021-2022 officers are:

President: Luis Rufino
Vice President: Mario Homer
Treasurer: Vivek Vankayalapati
Inclusion: Chip Castleton
Outreach: Marcus Tanner
Historian: Bryant Nielsen
Communications: Ian Wixom

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Distinguished Chapter award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.